Anti freeze in vintage Austins

Servicing, Repairs & Restoration for your Austins.
Jboy964

Anti freeze in vintage Austins

Post by Jboy964 »

I have had Fernox Alphi 11 recommended as a more environmentally friendly anti freeze for use in my 1928 chummy. I don’t plan to use the car while we have frost and salt on the roads but it is always useful to be able to move it without having to refill and then drain down again. Any other members have experience of using Alphi 11?

Thanks, John
Ben Wall

Re: Anti freeze in vintage Austins

Post by Ben Wall »

I have been using it for a couple of years since replacing the water pump backplate in a 1925 Twenty/4 and have had no problems, gland packing remains good and no leaks developed. Coolant has stayed clear so I presume that the inhibitors in it are working. As far as its environmental credentials are concerned, I really dont have the faintest idea, but I feel that the impact of a gallon or so of anti freeze,responsibly disposed of, every four or five years is hardly likely to tilt the planet off its axis.
Fabric16Six

Post by Fabric16Six »

I can endorse the use of Alphi 11. Used it in all my vehicles with no problems. Always haggle with my local Travis Perkins and get it for about £20 for 5 litres. Believe a 50/50 mix is recommended for full protection.
alvisspeed20

Post by alvisspeed20 »

I have used Fernox Alpha 2 for over 10 years in multitude of cars of different makes. No problems ever. Always use 50/50 mix

Happy and healthy New Year to everybody

Mike Wheadon
chris

Post by chris »

I work on a ship with a few experienced classic car enthusiasts / engineers.

They swear by this stuff. Water-less coolant.